European Film Festival Palić assigns Golden Tower for best film and Palić Tower for best director, and there is also Special Jury Award. International Critic’s Jury assigns Award for Best Film from Parallels and Encounters program.

Young Spirit of Europe program traditionally assigns Underground Spirit.



Aleksandar Lifka Award, European Film Festival Palić assigns to filmmakers for their outstanding contribution to the European cinema, was established in 2000. The first laureates were Hungarian film director and screenwriter Miklos Jancso and Serbian actress Milena Dravić and this years laureates are Želimir Žilnik and Roy Andersson.

Želimir Žilnik has written and directed numerous feature and documentary films which have won many awards at national and international film festivals. Žilnik is renowned as an initiator of the „docudrama“ genre. From the very beginning his films have focused on contemporary issues, featuring social, political and economic assessments of everyday life (A NEWSREEL ON VILLAGE YOUTH IN WINTER (1967), THE UNEMPLOYED (1968) and JUNE TURMOIL (1968). The student demonstrations of 1968 is at the center of Žilnik’s first feature film EARLY WORKS which was awarded the Golden Bear at the Berlin Film Festival. After facing problems with censorship in Yugoslavia, Žilnik spent the mid-seventies in Germany.

Zelimir ZilnikFollowing his return to Yugoslavia at the end of the seventies, he directed a substantial series of television films and docudramas (BROOKLYN – GUSINJE, OLDTIMER). All these works foreshadowed the growing tensions and looming political and social changes that were to affect the country. Turning to independent film and media production in the nineties, he went on to make a series of feature and documentary films centering around the cataclysmic events befalling the Balkans (TITO AMONG THE SERBS FOR THE SECOND TIME, MARBLE ASS, THROWING OFF THE YOLKS OF BONDAGE, WANDERLUST etc.).

The breakdown of the system of values in post-transitional Central and Eastern European countries and the problems facing refugees and immigrants within the new circumstances of an “extended Europe” became the focus of Žilnik’s most recent films FORTRESS EUROPE, KENEDI GOES BACK HOME, KENEDI, LOST AND FOUND, EUROPE-NEXT-DOOR, SOAP IN DANUBE OPERA , KENEDI IS GETTING MARRIED and his latest full-length documentary LOGBOOK_SERBISTAN.

Roy Andersson was born in Gothenburg in 1943. He became film director, trained at the Swedish Film Institute’s Film School in Stockholm, at the end of the 1960’s. His feature-length film debut was in 1970 with A SWEDISH LOVE STORY, followed by GILIAP in 1975. After this, he shot numerous award-winning advertising films and also the unfinished 1989 AIDS film SOMETHING HAPPENED. In 1991 he started the Gothenburg Film Festival’s relay film project 90 minuter 90-tal with his short WORLD OF GLORY. He is honorary doctor at the University of Gothenburg as well as honorary chairman of the Gothenburg International Film Festival since 2009.

Roy AnderssonWith the multiple award-winning SONGS FROM THE SECOND FLOOR, 2000, Roy returned to the feature-length film format. The next film, YOU, THE LIVING, was premiered at the film festival in Cannes in 2007. The final part of the trilogy, A PIGEON SAT ON A BRANCH REFLECTING ON EXISTENCE, was premiered at the 71 Venice Film Festival, where it got Golden Lion for The Best Film.

Here is a full list of all the laureates of this prestigious award:

Milena Dravić
Miklos Jancso – Hungary

Dušan Makavejev
Jiri Menzel – Czech Republic

Gordan Mihić
Lucian Pintilie – Romania

Mladomir Puriša Đorđević
Krzysztof Zanussi – Poland

Živorad Žika Mitrović
Margarethe von Trotta – Germany

Eva Ras
Andzej Wajda – Poland

Velimir Bata Živojinović
Theo Angelopoulos – Greece

Ljubiša Samardžić
Istvan Szabo – Hungary

Goran Paskaljević
Ken Loach – Great Britain

Predrag Miki Manojlović
Ken Russell – Great Britain

Goran Marković
Constantin Costa Gavras – Greece/France

Srđan Karanović

Lordan Zafranović – Croatia

Zoran Simjanović

Jean-Marc Barr – France

Emir Kusturica
Nikita Mihalkov – Russia

Mirjana Mira Banjac
Claude Lelouch – France